Amy T

Experienced Pet Care, Hugs are Free!

Want To Connect With Amy? Get Started Now

Pet Sitter in Hammond

My husband, Greg, and I provide pet care in our home for dogs and potty-trained puppies up to 40 lbs, starting at only $25 per night per dog, $35 for puppies. We can be your best option for a stress-free vacation: short or long-term care, even daycare socialization for puppies and dogs, only $20 per day. Your pet will be cared for by mature adults and supervised at all times. Your dogs can play and explore in our fenced-in backyard and garden, relax on the couch or one of the many dog beds around the house, and even sleep in the bed with us at night if you approve. Treat your dog to the best vacation in town! Lots of love, hugs and play all day! Light grooming (baths, brushing) is also part of the day. Baths are provided at no charge for dogs staying 7 nights or longer, otherwise upon request. Space is limited, as we only accept up to 4 dogs at one time, so definitely contact us as soon as you know when you need us! We also offer pet care visits to your home, pick-up/drop-off, and Dog Walking. We always have a complimentary meet and greet with you and your pet(s) before a stay or visit so that we will discuss your needs and make sure we are a good fit for you and your pets. I am 32 years old, and I have over 10 years of professional pet sitting experience. I am a dependable, caring, and responsible pet sitter. My husband, Greg, and I love all types of animals, and we are life-long pet owners. We have 2 dogs, an energetic 7-year-old spayed female Chihuahua named Hannah and an adventurous 9-year-old neutered male Pomeranian mix named Link. I will tell you a little about our relevant experience. I have been working for a socialized pet boarding facility in Baton Rouge for over 9 years as well as working for my own clients. My husband, Greg, has been pet sitting as well for over 2 years now. When I moved to Hammond from Baton Rouge, I saw the need for quality pet sitters in this area and decided to start my own business here. I have experience caring for many types of animals including dogs, cats, horses, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and small mammals such as rats and guinea pigs. Long list I know! I have been working for over 9 years at Home Sweet Home Pet Sitters, who provide socialized boarding in Baton Rouge. My husband has been pet sitting as well for over 2 years. When I lived in Baton Rouge and attended LSU, I worked at Home Sweet Home Pet Sitters during the days when the owners needed to run errands. I also stayed overnight, sometimes for several days when they needed someone to run the business, and care for the animals while they were out of town. My husband, Greg, and I still spend one weekend a month there so that Janine and Ernie can take a break and go out of town for a few day. In addition to working in Baton Rouge, we run Fur Family Pet Sitters where we care for dogs in our home, and provide home visits for all types and sizes of animals amphibians, and horses. Why I love dog sitting I have been a dog lover ever since I can remember. My father was a veterinarian, so I have been around animals my whole life and always enjoyed interacting with animals. I grew up with pets in my family since before I can remember. My parents are animal lovers, and they passed it on to their 5 children for sure. My husband had his Chihuahua, Hannah, before we met, and he loves her like a child. She and my little Pomeranian mix, Link, integrated so well together that it is positively amazing. Link is like my little boy, and Greg understands how I feel, which is lovely... We do not have any children yet, and our pets are part of our family. I also worked in vet offices in my 20's (I am 31 now). I had thought I wanted to be a veterinarian at that time and was majoring in veterinary medicine at LSU. Later I realized that despite my love of animals, being a vet was not for me because they must do many things that are not fun for the animal. I loved being that happy part of a pets day. Only relatively recently did I realize that it is pet sitting, not veterinarian services, that I really want to pursue as more than just a temporary job. Meet my pets... My husband and I have 2 dogs, 2 guinea pigs, and 2 cats. You have already been introduced to Link and Hannah, but I will tell you a bit more about them. We raised each of them since they were puppies. Link has always been a little adventurer and loves to play ball, tug, and be chased around the yard. He is very friendly and well-socialized. Hannah came into my life when I met Greg. She is really a sweetheart once she lets you into her circle. In the last 2 years, she has socialized with more dogs than ever before in her life, learning how to interact with other dogs. Now she has become confident and assertive while still being friendly and calm even among 10 dogs. She and Link are our pack. Our 2 cats are Zoey and Lex. Zoey is a 6 year old brown tabby. She was raised with dogs her whole life ever since she was 12 weeks old. She has an easygoing personality. Lex is a 2 year old orange tabby. We adopted him from a friend who had found him at a gas station and couldn't find his owner or keep him any longer in his apartment. Lex is very sweet and playful. He even plays with some of our client dogs. Our cats are accustomed to having client dogs in our home. We have a 'safe zone' for them, a dog gate that blocks dogs from going into the office. That area is cats only. About my yard... My backyard is completely enclosed by a 6 foot wooden fence. We keep the gate securely locked so that it can't be opened on accident. Our yard is medium-sized and flat with a lawn, paths, and gardens. Plenty of room to explore and play! Your dogs will love playing, walking, and lounging in our dog-friendly backyard. My experience administering medication... Yes, I am comfortable administering medications if necessary. I am able to administer oral as well as injected medications. I have experience administering oral medication and injected medication, sub q and IM. My dog sitting style... When your dog stays in my home, they will be treated just like my own. We will walk in the backyard and around my street if you approve. We can also take trips to the dog park if you say it's okay. In my home, we will play with your dogs throughout the day for exercise and fun! Your dog's sleeping arrangement... Your dogs may sleep with us in our bed if you approve, or they can choose to sleep in one of many dog beds in our bedroom and around our house. We will make sure every dog is comfortable and happy with their sleeping arrangements before we go to sleep at night. Time I'll spend with your dog... Every dog will go for walks and play all day (until they get tired and need a nap). We specialize in providing round-the-clock care for your pet. Your pet will be supervised by a mature adult at all times, and your pet will never be left alone in our home. We will provide daily grooming for your pet including brushing and bathing (for stays longer than a week or as needed), at no additional charge. Your dog will have constant human interaction as well as socialization and fun with other dogs. Our dogs are socialized and do well with 10 dogs, although we only have space for 4 dogs in our home at a time. Book as soon as you know you need us to make sure we have space available! I take pride in providing a home away from home for the pets that stay in my home. We follow their routine while they are here to give them a sense of stability. I consider pets family, so they are loved like crazy; and we have lots of fun playing together too! We encourage our clients to have a meet and greet, where everybody gets to meet and get to know each other before a stay. We humans have time to go over important information for the stay while the dogs get to get acquainted with each other and our home so they will feel more at home when they return. About your dog... I would like to know how much socialization your dogs have had, that they are up to date on shots, and that your dogs are on flea and heartworm preventative. If your pups do well at the dog park then they will love it here!

Pet Sitter Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number Upgrade your account to call
Zip Code 70403
Years of Experience 10
Provider Type Agencies/Companies
Hourly Rate $25.00
House Calls Yes
Agencies/Companies Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile