Amanda Preston

Your pet will feel right at home

Pet Sitter in Des Moines

I'm Amanda and I'd love to host your dog next time you go out of town! Want to learn more about me and my services? Enter this link into your browser, and send me a message directly from my profile on Rover: About MeHello, my name is Amanda and I live downtown in the heart of Des Moines. I have a huge passion and love for dogs, coming home and seeing their wagging tails and smiles warms my heart. You are their entire world and they are mine! I have two dogs, Maggie ( Maltese) and MacGruber ( Pug mix) and they love having an extra playmate over and we all have so much fun! I have cared for my coworkers dogs for overnights and long weekends. I have also helped foster two dogs in Mexico, which was an amazing experience. I live in a great area for dog lovers/sitters/walkers! I'm one block from the downtown sculpture garden. It's such a great area for dogs to socialize with other dogs and people. Another activity we routinely do is either walk or bike to Greys Lake, from my home to the trail and back is about four miles. I have a dog cart connected to my bike and my boyfriend of six years also has an attachment cart for his bike. I always bring my "dog backpack" along which includes fresh water, bowls, treats( grain and chicken free), poop bags and wipes when it's muddy out.This is my routine: I work Monday through Thursday from 7:30 to 5 pm with a one hour lunch. Mornings: I make their breakfast and watch to make sure one of my faster eaters is not trying to take food from her slower, more graceful sister :) Then I get ready for work which only takes me about twenty minutes while they are digesting their food. Then we get the leashes on and go for about a twenty minute walk. Both of my dogs are kennel trained and each have their own. If you would not want your dog in a kennel I can accommodate that with my second bedroom, I'd leave the door open but I will put a gate up ( due to wanting to respect my neighbors). Also in each of their Kennels I put a four ounce container of water in there for them and have a little radio I turn on for them. I always tell them I will be back in a few hours (sounds crazy but I swear they understand me) Lunch: I live about twelve minutes to be exact from work. I come home everyday and walk them for about twenty minutes. Most times they have finished their water and I refill it along with giving them a treat (grain and chicken free). Then the same routine with the radio and telling them I'll be back in a few hours. Evening: I come home just after five p.m. And this is the usual active time during the week, we bring our "dog backpack" and go on a long walk usually 45 minutes to an hour, we do take breaks for water and a small treat. Sometimes the Iowa Cubs will welcome dogs so we usually ride our bikes there and they just have a blast! I would always tell you before and ask for permission before I would take them to something like that. On the weekend it's usually the same routine, very relaxed. We still do our long walks or bikes but I DO NOT take them to the farmers market, it's to much for them and myself. The sculpture garden, around the library and Greys lake are perfect, just the right amount of people and dogs which makes it so enjoyable. We do have a lot of toys at home, a lot of them are "puzzle/maze" toys. Due to my Maltese having digestive problems I do not allow stuffed toys, rope toys, bones or the brand "Nylabones".Food: I feed my dogs Canidae brand dry food that does not contain any chicken or grain due to my dogs special needs. I would prefer for you to bring over whatever you feed your loved on, like I said I feed them separately in their own bowl and watch just to make sure the fast eaters don't take any of the slower eaters food. Also I will accommodate any type of food you want them to have, I've done the raw food in the past as well so I'm very familiar with it.I want your dog to have the best experience, feel comfortable and feel like they just made some doggy friends. My dogs are my family and I really enjoy seeing them make friends. Also because I live in with my boyfriend I can do overnights at your home if that would make you feel better.I can do a check in with your dog probably three times a day depending on schedules and " DogWalking" ( my all time favorite can most likely be at a accommodating time especially if you live in the Des Moines area). My main focus when boarding is the dogs overall happiness, I would sleep on the floor right by your dog just make sure they don't feel abandoned. Also for boarding at either home I would love to know their routine, any medications, diet, disabilities, anxiety and any information about your dog to make sure he or she has a wonderful experience.One last thing I did forget to mention and this is primarily for senior dogs or disabilities, I do have a pet stroller and my apartment has an elevator for dogs that have problems with stairs. Also attached to the apartment is an outdoor terrace that is enclosed (a great place for playing ball or fetch)It is truly important to me that you and your dog are extremely happy with the help that I feel completely comfortable to provide! I can send daily pictures or emails to help out your mind at ease.I look forward to hearing from you and my dogs are very excited to have a new friend.About My ServicesI offer: Dog Boarding: $19 per night. I'm comfortable taking care of dogs who are: small (1-15 lbs), medium (15-40 lbs), House Sitting: $25 per night. I'm comfortable taking care of dogs who are: small (1-15 lbs), medium (15-40 lbs), large (41-100 lbs), giant (100 lbs). Drop-In Visits: $12 per visit. I'm comfortable taking care of dogs who are: small (1-15 lbs), medium (15-40 lbs), large (41-100 lbs), giant (100 lbs). Doggy Day Care: $15 per day. I'm comfortable taking care of dogs who are: small (1-15 lbs), medium (15-40 lbs), Dog Walking: $10 per walk. I'm comfortable taking care of dogs who are: small (1-15 lbs), medium (15-40 lbs), large (41-100 lbs), giant (100 lbs). Raves from My ClientsWant to learn more about me and my services? I have 1 reviews on my Rover profile. Check out what my clients had to say:"I have had Amanda pet sit for me on a few occasions and she was fabulous. She truly loves loves animals and it is reflected in her care for them. You won't be disappointed in her care for your dog!!! " --Autumn K..... read more of reviews, go to to learn more about my services? Enter this link into your browser:

Pet Sitter Details

Email Address
Phone Number 515-508-... Confirmed
Services Dog Walking
Pet Feeding
Pet Sitting
Overnight Care


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Pet Care Provider