Melanie Demetrick

Pet Nanny - Seeking new Households

Pet Sitter in Calgary

My name is Melanie, and I am currently attending the University of Calgary, with a major in Music. The 2013 Winter term at the University has ended, so I am now looking for a part-time job related pet care where I can work during the spring/summer. I currently have a Doberman, a cat, two guinea pigs, and a donkey. I am often asked to take care of family members pets while they are away on vacation, as I have a genuine love for animals of all shapes and sizes, and I love working with, and caring for them however I can. I wouldn't mind working with any species of animal (except exotic pets like spiders, or anything similar), as long as I am given specific instructions on their care. I have a large amount of experience in caring for animals such as dogs and cats, as well as smaller animals like fish, guinea pigs, hamsters, rabbits, and aquatic frogs, as I have owned all of them over the course of my life. I am somewhat familiar with small snakes, although I have never formally cared for one. I currently have a Doberman, who has completed the beginner obedience level, as well as a cat, two guinea pigs, and a donkey. I also have a lot of experience in working with larger animals, such as donkeys, and horses. In taking care of smaller animals, I can provide services such as feeding, walking (dogs), giving clean water, entertainment (playing with dog/cat/guinea pig, etc.), cage cleaning (rabbits/guinea pigs/hamsters/small fish), nail trimming (dogs/rabbits/guinea pigs), bathing/cleaning (dogs/guinea pigs/rabbits), brushing fur (dogs/cats/guinea pigs/rabbits), brushing teeth (dogs/cats), trimming whiskers (dogs), and obedience (dogs) teaching simple commands, such as sit, down, come, house-breaking, and possibly, leave it, stay, and shake, and other more fun tricks if I have a larger time frame. For larger animals, such as donkeys and horses, I am familiar with feeding, and providing clean water, as well as cleaning out hooves, and brushing. Although I do not have any experience in caring for any birds or reptiles, given specific instructions, I would not mind doing simpler tasks involving them, such as feeding, and watering. The same principle applies to small animals not mentioned before, such as ferrets, gerbils, chinchillas, etc.) I can do drop-in visits, depending on where the house is located, and walk the dog, let the dog outside for a break, play with the animals, etc.), or I can stay for a longer time during the day to care for the animals, while you are away. I can host pets at my house if the owner is away, but this is restricted to smaller animals such as rabbits, guinea pigs, fish, hamsters, frogs. I could not host any birds or reptiles/amphibians, because there are certain people in my house who have a fear of them. I could maybe host cats or dogs, but this is very much dependent on their gender/temperament/personality, because I also have a cat and a dog, and I wouldn't want either pets from either household to feel threatened, or possibly hurt each other. During the course of my life, I have owned several different species of animals simultaneously, such as hamsters, guinea pigs, a rabbit, aquarium fish, beta fish, aquatic frogs, donkeys, cats, and a dog. I have trained my dog (Doberman) myself, and she is certified in beginner obedience. She knows commands such as sit, down, stay, wait, with either hand signals or verbal commands, as well as come, leave it, shake right, shake left, go though (weave through someone's legs), up, and off, as well as many others. I do not dislike any one kind of animal, as I believe that they all deserve to be treated fairly. In training dogs, I use positive reinforcement and food, and I treat all animals that I handle with respect. I would also never physically harm any animal; not for a punishment, or any other reason. Again, if given instructions by the owner, and if the owner is comfortable with it, I would not mind caring for pets that I have not had large amounts of experience with, as long as they are relatively simple tasks. I also don't mind caring for multiple pets at once. I do not have experience with walking more than one dog at a time, but I would be fine with it, if asked.

Pet Sitter Details

Email Address
Phone Number 403-471-...
Postal Code T3H...
Years of Experience 6
Provider Type Individuals
Experience Dogs
Small Mammals
Farm Animals
Services Dog Walking
Pet Feeding
Pet Sitting
Pet Grooming
Overnight Care
House Calls Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Pet Care Provider

I Need a Pet Care Provider
Post your Job
I Am a Pet Care Provider
Post your Profile